Aptos High senior quarterback Nick Forbes looks for an open receiver in Friday night's game against Salinas High. The Mariners lost to the Cowboys, 42-14, in PCAL-Gabilan division play. (Photo by Juan Reyes)

PCAL Gabilan Division Top Players

Most Valuable Player: Aidan Flynn, Salinas

Offensive Player of the Year: Tyler Pacheco, San Benito

Defensive Player of the Year: Rossi Oteri, Christopher

First team offense

Adam Shaffer, Salinas, QB

Tyler Pacheco, San Benito, QB

Jo Jo Cardinale, Palma, RB

Damian Morales, Salinas, RB

Seamus Carey, Aptos, RB

Nyziah Hunter, Salinas, WR

Emmerson Cortez, Salinas, WR

Logan Saldate, Palma, WR

Jaiden Brown, Alvarez, WR

Zachary Lee, Salinas, OL

Javier Avila, Palma, OL

JJ O’Hara, Aptos, OL

Khader Yasin, San Benito, OL

A J Flores, San Benito, OL

Aptos High senior Seamus Carey had 64 yards on nine carries and two touchdowns, including the go-ahead score that led to a 47-42 win against Palma High in PCAL-Gabilan division play on Friday, Sept. 10, 2021. (Photo by Juan Reyes)

Second team offense

Luke Rossi, Palma, QB

Nick Forbes, Aptos, QB

Christian Campos, Alisal, RB

Keyon Vaughns, Seaside, RB

Will Mesa, Monte Vista Christian, RB

Jaterius Lee, Christopher, WR

Isaiha Molina, San Benito, WR

Jeter Olivares, Seaside, WR

Colton Amaral, Palma, WR

Cole Ishimaru, Salinas, OL

Ben Bruno, Aptos, OL

Adolfo Reyes, Alisal, OL

Karim Yasin, San Benito, OL

Andy Hendrickson Monte Vista Christian, OL

Monte Vista Christian senior Will Mesa recorded two touchdowns in a season-opening win against North Monterey County High on Aug. 27. (Photo: Juan Reyes)

First team defense

Aidan Flynn, Salinas, LB

Kasey Mena, Palma, LB

Rossi Oteri, Christopher, LB

Alex Valencia, San Benito, LB

Jacob Vega, Salinas, LB

Vito Riccabonna, Aptos, DB

Jayden Freidt, San Benito, DB

Isaac Rodriguez, Salinas, DB

Mateo Reyes, San Benito, DB

Michael MacNeill, Salinas, DL

Joseph Finley, Palma, DL

Abraham Solorio, San Benito, DL

Eric Lualemana, Seaside, DL

Nathan Edeza, Salinas, DL

Second team defense

Derek Sandoval, San Benito, LB

Flavio Cornejo, Aptos, LB

Maliki Harrison, San Benito, LB

Gabriel Perez, Alvarez, LB

Kyle Recota, Monte Vista Christian, LB

Jake Mahler, Palma, DB

Isaiah Duarte, Salinas, DB

Mason Pena, Christopher, DB

Glenn Beal, Seaside, DB

Luis Ramos, Christopher, DL

Kyle Luis, Aptos, DL

Christian Webb, Seaside, DL

Kingsley Okoronkwo, Christopher, DL

Alex Puente, Alvarez, DL

Elgie Bellizio Sportsmanship award 

Alisal, Christopher, San Benito

Richard Chamberlain Sportsmanship team

Seamus Carey, Aptos

Julian Rodriguez, Alisal

Jaime Gil, Alvarez

Keith Pelaiz, San Benito

Payton Wheeler, Christopher

Josh Peternel, Monte Vista Christian

Sam Gomez, Palma

Jovany Salcedo, Salinas

Andrew Pappas, Seaside

Previous articleCypress Division All-League Football Team
Next articleJudge declines preliminary injunction, allows homeless to temporarily stay
A Watsonville native who has a passion for local sports and loves his community. A Watsonville High, Cabrillo College, San Jose State University and UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism alumnus, he primarily covers high school athletics, Cabrillo College athletics, various youth sports in the Pajaro Valley and the Santa Cruz Warriors. Juan is also a video game enthusiast, part-time chef (at home), explorer and a sports junkie. Coaches and athletic directors are encouraged to report scores HERE.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here