Cole Macedo recorded the victory in the 30-lap Taco Bravo Sprint Car main event Friday night at Ocean Speedway. 

It was the first career win at Watsonville for Macedo, who is the reigning Civil War Sprint Car Series champion.

Macedo began the race in the outside front row starting position by virtue of his second place Trophy Dash finish behind Bud Kaeding. 

Kaeding was going for his fourth feature win of the season but Macedo charged into the lead at the drop of the green flag. 

The race had seven yellow flags with the final one waving on lap 27. 

However, Macedo once again motored ahead on the final restart and scored the impressive win ahead of Kaeding. 

Passing honors went to longtime competitor Jerry Bonnema after he started near the back in the 12th spot. 

Bonnema took the third position from point leader James Ringo on a lap 21 restart and placed third.

Jason Chisum finished fourth, followed by Keith Day Jr, Ringo, reigning champion Brad Furr, Jeremy Chisum, Jayson Bright and Ryon Nelson.

Of the 19 competitors, Macedo set the tone for the evening by setting the fast time standard of 11.968 seconds on the quarter-mile clay oval. 

Kaeding was the only other driver in the 11 second bracket with an 11.977 and won the six-lap Trophy Dash.
The eight-lap heat race wins were earned by Bright, Jake Andreotti and Zane Blanchard. 

IMCA Modified  

Nick DeCarlo won the 25-lap IMCA Modified main event in a contest that saw several lead changes throughout the race.  

DeCarlo, who was the 2017 champion, lined up seventh on the grid, while rookie Anthony Giuliani led for the first five laps before a yellow flag was waved. 

Robert Marsh took the lead on the restart and another yellow flag waved on lap seven. Giuliani retook the lead on the restart but a yellow flag, yet again, flew on lap nine. 

Austin Burke was in second at that point and gained the lead on the restart. DeCarlo began his charge to the front of the pack, taking back second place on lap 15 before a yellow flag waved for a fourth time. 

DeCarlo put the moves on Burke to get the lead on the restart but it wasn’t completely smooth sailing from there.

A fifth yellow flag slowed the pace on the 20th lap and Burke regained the lead when the green flag waved. 

DeCarlo ran closely behind Burke and made his move into the lead on the final lap with Giuliani following closely into second. 

DeCarlo scored the thrilling victory, followed by Giuliani, Austin Burke, Jim Pettit II, Cody Burke, Jeff Decker, Duane Orsburn, Anthony Copeland, Marsh and James Alaga. 

DeCarlo and Marsh won the eight-lap heat races.

IMCA Sport Modified

Guy Ahlwardt won the 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified main event for his second win of the season. 

Justin McPherson took the lead for just a lap before Ahlwardt raced by for the lead, while Bakersfield star Kevin Johnson quickly fell into second.

The only yellow flag waved during the race didn’t come until lap 16.

Ahlwardt, who’s currently the IMCA State point leader, continued to lead the way on the restart and picked up the win ahead of Johnson and Jarrod Mounce. 

Justin McPherson placed fourth just ahead of Andrew Peckham, Doff Cooksey, point leader Adriane Frost, Kenny Shrader, Dennis Sumonovich and Todd Gomez. 

Johnson and Frost won their respective eight-lap heat races.

DJ Keldsen, left, led for nine laps before his night came to an end for a yellow flag during last week’s Hobby Stock main event. (Juan Reyes — Pajaronian)

Hobby Stock

Joe Gallaher had some luck on his side as he won the 15-lap Hobby Stock main event for his second straight win this season. 

DJ Kelson led the first nine laps before his race came to an end for a yellow flag. 

Hobby Stock point leader Rob Gallaher took over the lead on the restart, while his father, Joe Gallaher settled into second place. 

Rob Gallaher looked like he was headed for victory before having problems on the final lap but suddenly Joe Gallaher found himself leading.

Rob Gallaher took the checkered flag ahead of reigning champion Matt Kile, Wally Kennedy, Jerry Skelton and Ryan Muller. 

Keldsen picked up the win in the eight-lap heat race.

Police N’ Pursuit

John Hohmann won the 15-lap Police N’ Pursuit main event to capture his second win of the season.

Hohmann, who represented the Scotts Valley Police Department, raced into the lead right from the beginning. 

AJ Waltrip of the Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Office settled right behind Hohmann into second place on lap two. 

However, Hohmann set a rapid pace and soon had a straightaway advantage and not even a yellow flag on lap 12 could deter him. 

Hohmann resumed command on the restart and went on to victory ahead of Waltrip and Justin Rhodes. 

Adam Rikalo, Steven Fernandes, Dan Anderson, Pat Sullivan, Jesse Mueller, Roy Iler and Tony Weir. 

The eight-lap heat race wins went to Mueller and Hohmann.

Up Next

The Ocean Speedway is taking a break this upcoming Friday but the racing action will return on July 12th. 

The Taco Bravo Sprint Cars will be back along with the IMCA Modifieds, Four Bangers, South Bay Dwarf Cars and the Police N Pursuit cars. 

For further information, go to


Editor’s Note: This article will be published in the July 5 edition of the Pajaronian.


Ocean Speedway Points Standings (as of June 21)

Taco Bravo Ocean Sprints

  1. James Ringo  — 1145
  2. Jeremy Chisum — 1145
  3. Kurt Nelson — 1124
  4. Koen Shaw — 1116
  5. Jason Chisum — 972


IMCA Modifieds

  1. Cody Burke — 184
  2. Austin Burke — 182
  3. Jim Pettit II — 173
  4. Anthony Copeland — 168
  5. Jeff Decker — 164


IMCA Sport Mods

  1. Adriane Frost — 209
  2. Jarrod Mounce  — 193
  3. Guy Ahlwardt — 192
  4. Austin Williams — 172
  5.  Max Baggett — 171


Hobby Stocks

  1. Rob Gallaher — 247
  2. Joe Gallaher — 223
  3. Wally Kennedy — 204
  4. DJ Keldsen — 164
  5. Nick Triolo — 153


Four Bangers

  1. Kate Beardsley — 446
  2. Nicole Beardsley — 445
  3. Bill Beardsley — 415
  4. John Grilli — 411
  5. Ryan McClelland — 405


Ocean Midgets

  1. David Prickett — 255
  2. Randi Pankratz — 227
  3. Jackson Dukes — 163
  4. Greg Edenholm — 157
  5. Jessica Swanson — 106


Police N’ Pursuit

  1. John Hohmann — 179
  2. Ron Iler — 169
  3. Cliff Sloma — 161
  4. Justin Rhodes — 161
  5. Steven Fernandes — 159

Previous articleAptos High robotics team wins international competition
Next articleCHP schedules next “Start Smart’ class


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here