Aptos High senior guards Jasmine Ackerman, left, and Jaylen Dang were named to the All-SCCAL first team this season. (file photo)

Aptos High senior guards Jaylen Dang and Jasmine Ackerman earned spots on the all-Santa Cruz Coast Athletic League First Team in a recent vote by the league basketball coaches. 

Dang averaged 14.3 points, 4.1 rebounds and 2.6 assists for the Mariners (17-10, 6-4), who placed fourth in the league standings. Ackerman averaged 11.5 points, 8.5 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 2.0 blocks per game this season. 

Grace Parry and Erin Schmit were honorable mentions for Aptos, which reached the Central Coast Section Division III semifinals. 

Scotts Valley High senior Kaitlin Imai was recognized by coaches within the league for her brilliant season, naming her the league’s Most Valuable Player. 

Imai led the Falcons (15-9, 7-3), who were co-runner-up in the SCCAL with Soquel (13-10, 7-3), to the CCS D-IV semifinals against Menlo School of Atherton. 

According to the MaxPreps website, she was second in the CCS in scoring with 542 points and she averaged 22.6 points per game, which was good for third in the section.

Imai knocked in 88 3-pointers, which was good for third in the CCS. She set a section-record with 13 3-pointers in a game against Santa Cruz High on Feb. 21 and set the school record with 44 points.

Scotts Valley coach Gabe Gonzales was praised by his peers who named him the league’s Coach of the Year.

San Lorenzo Valley High senior Abigail Lahey was given the Heart Award, which was suggested by coaches within the league as a way to recognize her hard work and perseverance after losing her father to cancer this past fall

All-SCCAL Girls Basketball

Most Valuable Player: Kaitlin Imai, Scotts Valley

Coach of the Year: Gabe Gonzales, Scotts Valley

Heart Award: Abigail Lahey, SLV

First Team

Jasmine Ackerman, Aptos

Jaylen Dang, Aptos

Bella Stevens, Santa Cruz

Elaina Benoit, Scotts Valley

Audrey Finch, Soquel

Second team

Isabella O’Donnel, Santa Cruz 

Claire Thompson, Santa Cruz

Amelia Sizemore, SLV

Elana McGrew, Scotts Valley

Isis Yao, Soquel

Honorable mentions 

Grace Parry, Aptos

Erin Schmit, Aptos

Maya Manildi, Harbor

Molly Ender-Tatum, Harbor

Hannah Morley, SLV

Isabella Reynolds, SLV

Elle Caltabiano, Santa Cruz

Samantha McLendon, Santa Cruz

Hailey McKinney, Scotts Valley

Ava Turowski, Scotts Valley

Ginna Winderholder, Soquel

Lexie Noble, Soquel

Previous articleWatsonville duo earns PCAL Players of the Year honors | Boys soccer
Next articleWatsonville turns to bonds to meet steep pension costs
A staff member wrote, edited or posted this article, which may include information provided by one or more third parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here