Watsonville High senior Mateo Arias was named the PCAL's Gabilan Division's Offensive Player of the Year by coaches within the league. (Raul Ebio/special to the Pajaronian)

The Watsonville High boys’ soccer team went on a historic run this season that ended with a trip to the California Interscholastic Federation Northern California Regionals Division I finals.

Leading the way were seniors Mateo Arias and Isaac Vargas, who were recognized by the coaches within the league as the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively.  

Arias finished with 16 goals, good for second on the team, and a team-best five assists, according to stats on the MaxPrep website.

Vargas, who finished with seven goals and an assist, was the heart of the defense that recorded 11 shutouts this season, including three in the postseason. 

The Wildcatz, champion of the Pacific Coast Athletic League’s Gabilan Division, also captured the program’s 12th Central Coast Section title and 10th championship under legendary coach Roland Hedgpeth. 

Arias and Vargas also earned all-league first-team honors along with seniors Luis Velasco-Vasquez and Lombardo Flores.

Flores finished with eight goals and three assists, and Velasco-Vasquez had one goal for the Wildcatz.

David Ibarra, Sergio Esteves, Oscar Herrera and Sebastian Abonce earned all-league second-team honors. 

Herrera finished with five goals and three assists for Watsonville, and Ibarra tallied four goals.

Velasco-Vasquez was also named to the Richard Chamberlin Sportsmanship Team. 

Alisal junior midfielder Yoni Avelar was named the Gaiblan Division’s Most Valuable Player.

Watsonville High senior Isaac Vargas was named the PCAL’s Gabilan Division’s Defensive Player of the Year by the coaches within the league. (Raul Ebio/special to the Pajaronian)

Gabilan Division

Most Valuable Player: Yoni Avelar, Alisal

Offensive Player of the Year: Mateo Arias, Watsonville

Defensive Player of the Year: Isaac Vargas, Watsonville

First team

Isaac Vargas, Watsonville

Mateo Arias, Watsonville

Luis Velasco-Vasquez, Watsonville

Lombardo Flores, Watsonville

Kevin Brown, North Salinas

Bryan Escalante-Godinez, North Salinas

Isaac Rios, North Salinas

Cesar Romero, Alisal

Ricky Ambriz, Alisal

Yoni Avelar, Alisal

Jean-Luc Martel, Soledad

Jose Beltran, Soledad

Anthony Arevalo, Alvarez

Erik Corona, Salinas

Second Team

David Ibarra, Watsonville

Sergio Esteves, Watsonville

Oscar Herrera, Watsonville

Sebastian Abonce, Watsonville

Yahir Cruz, North Salinas

Daniel Macias, North Salinas

Sebastian Rubio, North Salinas

Carlos Aguilar, Alisal

Nathan Saldana, Alisal

Jozef Real, Alisal

Alexis Guzman, Soledad

Salvador Zepeda, Soledad

Isaias Jimenez, Alvarez

Miguel Marcos, Salinas

Richard Chamberlin Sportsmanship Team

Luis Velasco-Vasquez, Watsonville

Yahir Lugo, Soledad

Bryan Gutierrez, North Salinas

Edwin Moreno, Alvarez

Jerry Caballero, Salinas

Yoni Avelar, Alisal

Elgie Bellizio Sportsmanship School: Salinas

Mission Division

Most Valuable Player: Hernan Funes, San Benito

Offensive Player of the Year: Victor Narez, King City

Defensive Player of the Year: Ezekiel Hernandez, San Benito

First team

Chris Jamrok, San Benito

Hugo Catalan, San Benito

Ezekiel Hernandez, San Benito

Hernan Alvarez Funes, San Benito

Victor Narez, King City

Alejandro Ibarra, King City

Frankie Zavala, King City

Zack Beardsley, Christopher

Jermaine Thomas, Christopher

Brian Jimenez, Christopher

Luis Velazquez, Pajaro Valley

Elias Gonzalez, Pajaro Valley

Jefferson Cruz, Gilroy

Daniel Jimenez, Gilroy

Jose Guzman Velasquez, Monterey

Second Team

Adan Serrato San Ramon, San Benito

Eusebio Rivera, San Benito

Abraham Nunez, San Benito

Gilbert Bolivar, San Benito

Giovanni Alcaraz, King City

Osvaldo Velasquez, King City

Diego Narez, King City

Emmanuel Lopez, Christopher

Edisson Torres, Christopher

Gilmar Torres, Christopher

Isaac Rojas, Pajaro Valley

Andres Rebollar, Pajaro Valley

Saul Hernandez, Gilroy

Yandy Cruz, Gilroy

Rene Saucedo Garcia, Monterey

Richard Chamberlin Sportsmanship Team

Ezequiel Suarez, San Benito

Damian Aguirre, King City

Anthony Patino, Christopher

Johan Velasquez, Pajaro Valley

Julian Ceja, Gilroy

Adriel Gutierrez, Monterey

Elgie Bellizio Sportsmanship School: Christopher

Cypress Division

Most Valuable Player: Jesus Arroyo, Greenfield

Offensive Player of the Year: Hector Garcia, Greenfield

Defensive Player of the Year: Ryan Ruiz, North Monterey County

First team

Jesus Arroyo, Greenfield

Hector Garcia, Greenfield

Anthony Zavala, Greenfield

Ivan Lopez, Greenfield

Saul Magos, NMC

Geovany Ochoa, NMC

Kevin Benitez, NMC

Ryan Ruiz, NMC

Kevin Espinas, Palma

Isidro Hernandez, Palma

Aiden Keegan, Monte Vista Christian

Cristian Linares, MVC

Alexis Soriano, Carmel

Jesus Pena, Gonzales

Second team

Sebastian Hernandez, Greenfield

Armando Hernandez, Greenfield

Victor Contreras, Greenfield

Eduardo Magdaleno, NMC

Martin Rios, NMC

Luis Simancas, NMC

Samuel Gomez, Palma

Suyesh Niraula, Palma

Benjamin Alcantara, Palma

Mark Spohn, MVC

Trent Hendricks, MVC

Chris Esparza-Pasos, Carmel

Brody Mendez, Carmel

Jesus Valdez, Gonzales

Richard Chamberlin Sportsmanship Team

Jordy Cabrera, Carmel

Jesus Pena, Gonzales

Steven Meza, Greenfield

Nathan Hanson, MVC

Harry Rojas, NMC

Samuel Bastida, Palma

Elgie Bellizio Team Sportsmanship School: Palma

Santa Lucia Division

Most Valuable Player: David Garcia, Seaside

Offensive Player of the Year: Jeffry Reyes, Seaside

Defensive Player of the Year: Daniel Avendano, Seaside

First team

David Garcia, Seaside

Jeffry Reyes, Seaside

Angel Lomeli, Seaside

Daniel Avendano, Seaside

Nathaniel Hahn, Stevenson

Nico Ochoa Collignon, Stevenson

Ardan Dorian, Stevenson

Mostafa Hassan, Marina

Shaiya Henry, Marina

Daniel Cano, Marina

Byron Duenas, Rancho San Juan

Alejandro Hernandez, Rancho San Juan

Sawyer Rice, Pacific Grove

Nate Goodwin, Pacific Collegiate

Second team

Lane Gonzalez, Seaside

Juan Vazquez, Seaside

Haziel Vazquez, Seaside

Emeka Cole, Seaside

Win Metcalf, Stevenson

Santiago Sanchez, Stevenson

Santiago Esquino, Stevenson

Rigo Garcia, Marina

Skeebo Henry, Marina

Samuel Oliver, Marina

Edgar Zamora, Rancho San Juan

Julian Hernandez, Rancho San Juan

Adryan Aquino, Pacific Grove

Carlo Ramirez-Truse, Pacific Collegiate

Richard Chamberlin Sportsmanship Team

Alejandro Venegas, Seaside

Santiago Sanchez, Stevenson

Mostafa Hassan, Marina

Guy Pimentel, Rancho San Juan

Sawyer Rice, Pacific Grove

Hudson Smith, Pacific Collegiate

Elgie Bellizio Sportsmanship Team of the Year: Pacific Collegiate

Arroyo Division

First team

Remigio Guijosa, Ceiba

Gonzalo Rocha, Ceiba

Carlos Ramirez, Ceiba

Israel Carisales, Ceiba

Kyle Khojasteh, Oakwood

Dylan Matthews, Oakwood

Joseph Gastelum, Oakwood

Jason Khan, York

Tyler Dwelle, York

Ryan Krageland, York

Garrett Lee, St. Francis

Emiliano Hernandez-Torres, St. Francis

Julian Valentin, Anzar

Brandon Maguire, Trinity

Elgie Bellizio Sportsmanship School: Oakwood

Previous articleGrizzlies’ trio earns All-PCAL first-team honors | Girls soccer
Next articleMariners standout guards earn All-SCCAL first team honors | Girls basketball
A staff member wrote, edited or posted this article, which may include information provided by one or more third parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here